Wax on Wax on Wax

The summer is finally winding down and my last semester as an undergrad is rapidly approaching. I’m really excited about this upcoming semester, I hope to make some amazing pieces. I have registered myself for three jewelry studios: Senior Studio V, Jewelry Topics: Alternative Materials, and Casting Topics. I am most excited about the Casting Topics class since I’ll be able to utilize the wax carving/modelling I’ve been doing over this summer. In fact, some of the projects I’ve designed and started will likely become part of my course curriculum since I am designing the class based off of what I want to do. The casting topics class will involve me having to create an Etsy site with marketable jewelry, also incorporating gem stones into the casting process. I really enjoy making cast objects, the wax modelling process is so much fun, starting from essentially a brick of wax and creating whatever the heck kind of intricate object I want to make is something which has always appealed to me – making something out of nothing, like a true underdog.

I took a wax model of my cast skull, chopped off the teeth, had the dome piece cast in white brass, and the teeth cast in yellow brass. The color difference is quite apparent in this photo, but it’s deceiving!

After receiving the castings back from the casters I removed the spruces and cleaned the two pieces, it was a real pain in the butt trying to clean up the teeth since they are very small in size (approx. 1mm teeth). I then soldered the teeth onto the skull, which again was a pain since the teeth were so small, when you solder such a small piece it tends to bounce all over the place when you heat up the flux, I solved this problem by using easy solder paste. I don’t like the way the teeth and dome piece do not contrast, so I sent another 5 skulls to be cast, white brass for the dome piece and RED brass for the teeth. My intentions are to make these into necklace pendants. Would you buy one?

I received my bow mold back, my intent on the wax models was to experiment on ways to lighten the bow by carving out excess unneeded wax, but casting wax is not easy to work with, it melts easy, isn’t easy to clean up, and flexes too much, so I’ve decided not to do anything to the master. I will likely end up making these into necklace pendants and/or bolo ties.

Lastly, this is the start of my first potential Esty “collection.” My plan is to create a collection called “Perfectly Imperfect” which takes shapes and objects you would typically think to be a certain A-typical shape/dimension and skewing the shapes. This is titled, “Staaas,” it’s how I imagine a New Englander says the word stars, it’s kind of like a homage to New England – a place I find to be perfectly imperfect. Other objects/shapes I will be working with are triangles, circles, diamonds, and cross bones.

About c s

No need for an "about you" segment, just read my blogs.
This entry was posted in Art, Art 2011/2012, Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a comment

